Select Page

pic via @GHHoops Twitter

Unsigned Senior Spotlight: 6’7″ PJ Fenton

The state of North Carolina is blessed with an overabundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at 6’7″ PJ Fenton of Green Hope High School in Morrisville, North Carolina, who we strongly feel is a college-level player.

In Fenton, what you are getting is a player with a defined skill set and good size. He is able to score the ball at every level, by creating for himself or moving without the ball to get open. Fenton is a very smart player, realizing mismatches and taking his opponent to where he is most comfortable. If it is a slower big he can go to the high post, free throw extended or wing and work off two dribbles. If it is a smaller player he is comfortable on the low block, a slower player he gets them moving as he cuts and finds open space in the paint. He can also step out and consistently knock down the three-ball in pick and pop situations.

There is a lot to like about Fenton on the floor…off the floor as well as he is a good student and will set the tone with work ethic. After watching Fenton earlier this season we wrote, “He is a tough cover because of his size and versatility. He, personally, outscored his opponent in the first half, doing so by a number of run outs, back door slips and jump shots. He is a very active offensive player who is able to step out and knock down a pick/pop 3 or get into the mid range with a one and two dribble pull up. Very productive scorer.

Green Hope has played a gauntlet of a schedule this season, playing against many of the states best public school programs. Fenton has been tasked to carry a majority of the load, and he has done so. Patriot level schools would be smart to take a look here, the future is bright and the ability to score the ball translates.

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/

Dhieu Deing http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-dhieu-deing/

Seth Bennett http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-seth-bennett/

Cartier Jernigan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-cartier-jernigan/

Brayden Dixon http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/braydendixon/

Bryant Randleman http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-bryant-randleman/

Trevon Spencer http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-65-trevon-spencer/

Tim Pettiford http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-tim-pettiford/

Jett Fortuny http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-jett-fortuny/

Raja Milton http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-raja-milton/

Brevin Goodlett http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-brevin-goodlett/

Rev Tholel http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-67-rev-tholel/

David Elien http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-611-david-elien/

PJ Fenton http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-67-pj-fenton/