Unsigned Senior Spotlight: 6’4 Jayvis Harvey

The state of North Carolina is blessed with an over abundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at D1 prospect 6’5 Jayvis Harvey .  Harvey checks in at no. 26in our most recent North Carolina 2019 rankings. https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/rankings/2019-north-carolina-rankings/

6’4 Jayvis Harvey is the team’s leading scorer averaging 14.6 PPG for one of the top teams in the NCHSAA 3A classification. At the Phenom City of Oaks, Harvey did what he was accustomed to doing, and that is scoring. Harvey finished with a game high 17 points. That being said, we were equally impressed with his court vision and passing ability. We’re talking about a strong, lengthy wing guard that can score from all three levels, defend multiple positions, rebound his position, and play tough, hardnosed defense. In otherwords, Jayvis Harvey is a complete all-around player.

First of all, Harvey has the ability to grab and secure a defensive rebound, dribble it out and push tempo the entire length of the court where he can create for his teammates or take it to the rim in transition. We were equally impressed with his patience and ability to score within the team structure. Nothing is forced and all done within the framework of the game. . Harvey has a soft shooting touch from the perimeter, a quick release with proper shooting mechanics, extension and follow through. While he is quite efficient with his perimeter shooting, he is superb in attacking the rim where he utilizes his excellent body control.

Phenom’s Miles Masercola stated it best, “The former Radford commit showed he can get it done in a vareity of ways, displaying the ability to  score from anywhere on the court and use his leadership to propel his squad to big wins. At 6’4 he can guard both wing spots due to a frame that is really filled out since summer. He’s strong, skilled, has high character, and simply understands what it takes to be part of a winning team.” To take it a step further, college coaches will absolutely love his poise and mature approach to the game. He always seems under control and in charge.

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/