The state of North Carolina is blessed with an overabundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at 6’7 Daniel Lobach of Moravian Prep, who we strongly feel is a scholarship-worthy player.

With big-name teammates like Josh Hall, Caleb Burgess, and Javarzia Belton, it can be somewhat difficult to stand out within a team setting. However, Lobach’s ability to stretch the floor, make the right play, and provide constant two-way contributions cannot be overstated. This team is simply better when he’s on the floor and that’s been the case with virtually every team he’s been on. He’s very intelligent and absolutely never forces the action, especially with this group of teammates, and truly embraces his complementary role at all times. Lobach is a smooth three-level scorer that typically looks to accumulate his points on spot-up opportunities form midrange and beyond the arc. That being said, he causes an abundance of mismatches with his blend of size and shooting, which allows him to adapt to any type of defender. Lobach is simply the type of player that every team needs to have and, honestly, it wouldn’t be outlandish if a Division I school were to extend a scholarship offer.

 

After our North Carolina Spring Phenom 150 Camp, our Jamie Shaw stated, Lobach may have been the most unlikely standout of the day. Lobach has been homeschooled his whole life, until the last month of so when he enrolled at Cape Fear Christian. Since the summer he has added 2 inches and 20+ pounds to put on his already lengthy (6’11” wing span) frame. In this setting, Lobach showcased the ability to score with his back to the basket, to make the pick & pop 3 and to score off the bounce from the high post or wing. He earned an invite to the NC Top 80 so it will be interesting to watch him against the best. However, he is one that D1 schools need to jump on now as he is getting better by the day.” All of that information is critically relevant, as Lobach’s trajectory implies that he could be outperforming other “highly touted” Division I prospects within the next few months.

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgess http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/

Dhieu Deing http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-dhieu-deing/

Seth Bennett http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-seth-bennett/

Cartier Jernigan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-cartier-jernigan/

Brayden Dixon http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/braydendixon/

Bryant Randleman http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-bryant-randleman/

Trevon Spencer http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-65-trevon-spencer/

Tim Pettiford http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-tim-pettiford/

Jett Fortuny http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-jett-fortuny/

Raja Milton http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-raja-milton/

Brevin Goodlett http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-brevin-goodlett/

Rev Tholel http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-67-rev-tholel/

David Elien http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-611-david-elien/

PJ Fenton http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-67-pj-fenton/

Themus Fulks http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-themus-fulks/

Noah Dunn http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-65-noah-dunn/

TJ Nesmith http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-tj-nesmith/