Unsigned Senior Spotlight: 6’3 Seth Bennett

The state of North Carolina is blessed with an over abundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at D1 prospect 6’3 Seth Bennett. Bennett checks in at no. 42 in our most recent North Carolina 2019 rankings. https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/rankings/2019-north-carolina-rankings/

We’ve often stated “shooters translate at every level,” and one thing is crystal clear, 6’3 senior Seth Bennett can flat out shoot the cover off the ball. In addition, he may be the best unsigned shooting guard  in the state and is drastically under the recruiting radar.  For the season, Bennett is having an outstanding all around season. He is averaging 16.2 PPG, 4.2 RPG, 4.0 APG, and 1.75 SPG. In other words, Bennett can score, pass, rebound and defend at a high level.

We’re talking about a silky smooth shooting guard that has excellent mechanics, nice extension, follow through and the proper arch. Each shot looks like it is going. To say Bennett is an efficient shooter would be a huge understatement. Simply put, Bennett has a high basketball IQ, great feel for the game, and scores within the framework of the offense. He’s patient and understands how to be a total team player. Nothing is ever rushed and done on a even pace, however his performance at the Hoodies Classic will tell you all you need to know about Bennett. Playing on an injured ankle in the championship game against undefeated and natioanlly ranked Long Island (NY) Lutheran, Bennett finished with a game high 22 points leading Charlotte Christian to an impressive 54-39 win.  Bennett finished with a perfect 10-10 from the free throw line and went 5-9 from the floor. As the old saying goes, big time players step up in big time games. He may be not be a Stephen Curry (Charlotte Christian alum) but with his ability to shoot the ball at an efficient rate, if I’m a college coach, I’m not taking on any chances.

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/

Dhieu Deing https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-dhieu-deing/

Seth Bennett https://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-seth-bennett/