Unsigned Senior Spotlight: 6’11” David Elien

The state of North Carolina is blessed with an overabundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at 6’11 David Elien of Chapel Hill High School in Chapel Hill, North Carolina, who we strongly feel is a college-level player.

There are times when we come across a player and wonder why in the world does he not have more offers. 6’11” David Elien is one of these guys. We have watched coaches watch him, we have watched him (borderline) dominate in front of coaches, we have watched coaches come through his gym and like him. However, for whatever reason these schools do not want to go in on the 6’11” rim protector who has great hands, runs the floor like a deer and carries a 3.9 GPA. Wait, what?!

Yeah, as we type it out, it makes little sense to us as well. Elien has only been playing basketball for a couple of years, with this last year and a half really taking it seriously. In speaking with high school coaches, who Elien plays against regularly, they don’t understand either as multiple have said he is the toughest player they have had to game plan against because of his ability around the rim to block and alter shots.

In previous settings we have written, “It does not matter how accomplished of a basketball coach you are, you cannot teach 6’10” with a 7’2” wing span…That is something you are born with. 2019 prospect David Elien was born with an incredible basketball frame as these are his dimensions…He is a natural run and jump athlete who possesses natural timing on the defensive end. Everything about Elien, and his game, fits exactly with the direction modern basketball is heading. He has incredible length, great timing and he is able to move his feet in space. Yes he is a potential high level defensive presence.”

Our first viewing of Elien came during Session 2 of the Spring NC Phenom 150 exposure camp. We walked away incredibly impressed as we were not sure what to expect, “Eilen Jr. is very long and has natural athleticism and timing. He showed the ability to knock down the 18 foot jump shot consistently. Eilen Jr. is new to the game and still learning, however he is showing that he has nice instincts. Eilen Jr’s camp coach stated, “David is a solid big who can move and finish at the rim. He is athletic and works hard defensively. There is a lot of upside here.”

Winthrop and UNC-Pembroke have stepped forward with offers. The likes of Radford, Western Carolina and Dartmouth have been recruiting him hard. In fact, Elien’s academics are so high, he has offers from Ivy League schools based on academics alone. Of course the academic side is playing a factor with his recruitment. However, this is one that we scratch our brains over.

At the worst, let’s say Elien develops none in college, you have a 6’11” rim protector and rebounder who is able to move his feet and switch ends like a wing (which would play incredibly well in the Big South, SoCon, Patriot, MEAC, etc…). However, that is incredibly unlikely he improves none in college. He has all league like potential, with a little patience at these levels.

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/

Dhieu Deing http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-dhieu-deing/

Seth Bennett http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-seth-bennett/

Cartier Jernigan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-cartier-jernigan/

Brayden Dixon http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/braydendixon/

Bryant Randleman http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-bryant-randleman/

Trevon Spencer http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-65-trevon-spencer/

Tim Pettiford http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-tim-pettiford/

Jett Fortuny http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-jett-fortuny/

Raja Milton http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-raja-milton/

Brevin Goodlett http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-brevin-goodlett/

Rev Tholel http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-67-rev-tholel/

David Elien http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-611-david-elien/

PJ Fenton http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-67-pj-fenton/