The state of North Carolina is blessed with an over abundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at D1 prospect 6’1 Shykeim Phillips.  Phillips  checks in at no. 22 in our most recent North Carolina 2019 rankings. http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/rankings/2019-north-carolina-rankings/

Consistency and versatility is Skykeim Phillips calling card. We’re talking about a strong and reliable guard that can handle, pass, shoot, and rebound, not to mention he plays a strong defensive game. In other words, Phillips is a complete guard that values winning and has all the physiclal attributes and intangibles that should make him a high priority for D1 schools. As we stated in our article from the John Wall Holiday Invitational, there’s an old saying. “If you play equal or above D1 talent, that along should be a telling sign that you too are a D1 talent.” That is just the case when we watched Phillips in the John Wall Holiday Classic. Phillips is a strong, athletic guard that does a little bit of everything well. He simply had an outstanding tournament which has been the case for his entire senior season. The tougher the competition, the better he plays and produces!

In speaking with head coach Chris Cherry (South Central), he stated, “Phillips is a two-time ECC Player of the Year, recently scored his 1000th career point, and has offers from ECU, Old Dominion, Presbyterian and South Carolina State. In addition, he is getting interest from Towson, Murray State, and UNC-Wilmington. He is averaging 17.5 PPG, 3.7 APG, but an even more impressive 4.2 SPG, and he is averaging 81% from the free throw line.”

With his 4.2 steals per game average, this statistic dovetails with what he stated from his performance at the John Walll Holiday Classic, “He plays a strong defensive game; he will rebound his position, and has great anticipation that allows him to get multiple steals each and every game.” We have watched Phillips countless times, whether it is in a camp setting, travel ball or for his high school team, he has been one of the most consistent performers we’ve watch. He does goes out and makes plays on both ends of the court. College coaches looking for a tough, gritty, hardnosed and productive player should look no further than Shykeim Phillips. You won’t be disappointed!

 

Previous articles on Shykeim Philips

http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/hoop-state-unsigned-seniors-stock-on-the-rise/

http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/john-wall-holiday-classic-day-2-standouts-part-2/

http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/john-wall-holiday-invitational-opening-day-standouts/

http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/jamies-list-of-5-2019-north-carolina-july-breakouts/

http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/cp3-standouts/

http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/page/2/?s=shykeim+phillips

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/