The state of North Carolina is blessed with an overabundance of talent. In the North Carolina 2018 class, 60 plus players signed with D1 schools and another 40 plus signed to play at the D2, D3, NAIA or Juco level. Quite impressive numbers! This year, the 2019 class is on the same course to have 100 plus players continue to play at the collegiate level. In our unsigned senior spotlight, we want to take a closer look at 6’0 Raja Milton of Independence  High School,  who we strongly feel is a college-level player. Our full 2019 North Carolina rankings: http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/rankings/2019-north-carolina-rankings/

Big time players step up in big time games and that was the case and point with 6’0 senior Raja Milton of Independence High School. In the “Battle of State Champions” featuring nationally ranked and defending NCISAA 2A state champion Carmel Christian, Milton etched and sealed his name as a scholarship level player.  Independence is the depending NCHSAA 4A state champion and came in with an 11-3 record. The game was a who’s who of D1 and D2 players. You had seven D1 players and one D2 player already committed and signed. For Carmel Christian, you have Donovan Gregory (Appalachian State), Marten Maide (Liberty), Myles Pierre (Houston Baptist), DeAngelo Epps (College of Charleston), and Jake Boggs (UNC-Wilmington). For Independence, you have Matthew Smith (Murray State), Tyler Smith (Western Carolina) and AJ McKee (Queens University). That being said, the one player that had the biggest impact on the game was Raja Milton, who is still flying under the recruiting radar.

Listed in our loaded and top 100 North Carolina 2019 ranking, Raja Milton is the leading scorer on the defending NCHSAA 4A state champion and again will be in the conversation for another title run. Milton is averaging 10.9 PPG, 4.8 APG, and 2.5 RPG on a well balanced and “team first” Independence team. In the thrilling overtime win (58-57), Milton started “guns a blazing” and finished the game with an exclamation mark. Milton finished with a game high 19 points including three 3-pointers, however he did the most damage when it mattered most. Milton literally took over the game in overtime and scored the team’s last nine points and also hit the game winner with eight seconds remaining. Big time players make big time plays in big time games and Raja Milton did just that!

It’s hard to fathom that Raja Milton doesn’t have more interest at the collegiate level. In speaking with coach Preston Davis, Milton sports one lone offer from Fort Valley State University. We’re always stated, “if you continue to play equal or above D1 and D2 players, that’s a pretty good indication you too are should be considered in the same conversation.” With Raja Milton, the proof is in the pudding. We’re talking about a tough, gritty, competitive playmaker that plays with tremendous intensity, not to mention one of the better on-the-ball defenders. College coaches looking for a winning playmaking point guard, should look no further than Raja Milton of Indpendence. He’s a proven player that can come in and make immediate contributions. Milton will bring a winning attitude and mentality that is alway needed and cherished at the collegiate level.

 

Be sure to check out the highlights from the “Battle of State Champions”

 

Be sure to read about other unsigned seniors:

Nick Evtimov http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/nickevtimov/

Elbert Ellis http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-elbert-ellis/

Travion McCray http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-travion-mccray/

Quest Aldridge http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-quest-aldridge/

John Michael Wright http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-pg-john-michael-wright/

Emmanuel Izunabor http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-69-emmanuel-izunabor/

Efosa U-Edosomwan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-62-efosa-u-edosomwan/

Shykeim Phillips http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-shykeim-phillips/

Michael Wade http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-511-michael-wade/

Caleb Burgesss http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-caleb-burgess/

Jayvis Harvey http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-jayvis-harvey/

Dhieu Deing http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-dhieu-deing/

Seth Bennett http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-seth-bennett/

Cartier Jernigan http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-61-cartier-jernigan/

Brayden Dixon http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/braydendixon/

Bryant Randleman http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-64-bryant-randleman/

Trevon Spencer http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-65-trevon-spencer/

Tim Pettiford http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-tim-pettiford/

Jett Fortuny http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-63-jett-fortuny/

Raja Milton http://www.phenomhoopreport.com/unsigned-senior-spotlight-60-raja-milton/